‘You don’t spank children today…’

Mother Convicted of Spanking Own Child…
‘You don’t spank children today,’ Judge scolds…

Dear Reader,
I saw these two links on Drudge today, and I was astounded.

Most of us get out parenting cues from our parents and grandparents, or at least that is my assumption.  As a teenager and young man, I thought that some of the things my parents did/said were unreasonable.  With the perspective that a few years can bring, I now realize that they mostly had it right.  There are a few things that I will change, but generally I will look to my parents and grandparents as guides.

I was spanked maybe 3 times that I can remember; but it was definitely not often.  Even as a five-year old I remember my parents and grandparents reasoning with me.  If I ever got a “Because I said so.” as an explanation, I don’t recall.  Generally we viewed that kind of a statement as a failure of leadership.

My parents were often criticized by other relatives with how they interacted with me.  From the time I was 3 I picked out my own clothes, helped choose what we had for dinner, or what things we would do as a family.  When these others would say, “he should wear what you tell him to wear, and eat what you serve; he’s a child.” My parents’ reply was “We’re not raising a child, we’re raising someone who will be an adult.”

You may not agree with them, but I seem to have turned out all right, and I think they had it pretty well nailed down.  Now that you know my history, I can tell you I think there are very few situations in which corporal punishment is the solution when dealing with most children.

However, no judge in any of the several States has the authority (moral, legal, or otherwise) to make that decision for me, for you, or for that woman.  We have let things get so out of hand, that a Judge can sit on a bench and tell someone how to be a parent.  ‘You don’t spank children today,’

Think about what that means. What it really  means.

Sometimes, I don’t even recognize this country anymore.  Most of the time I don’t recognize the folks who call themselves “Americans.”

We may not spank children today, but we’re soon going have to put our servant government back in its place, and I suspect telling it put its nose in the corner won’t do the trick.

Might be time to cut a switch.

Long live the Republic,
-Cato, the American.

Comments
One Response to “‘You don’t spank children today…’”
  1. Apparently, The judge, the prosecutor as well as the defendant’s (probably) court appointed lawyer have never bothered to read the justification statutes in the Texas Penal Code

    Sec. 9.01. DEFINITIONS. In this chapter:

    (3) “Deadly force” means force that is intended or known by the actor to cause, or in the manner of its use or intended use is capable of causing, death or serious bodily injury.

    Sec. 9.61. PARENT-CHILD. (a) The use of force, but not deadly force, against a child younger than 18 years is justified:

    (1) if the actor is the child’s parent or stepparent or is acting in loco parentis to the child; and

    (2) when and to the degree the actor reasonably believes the force is necessary to discipline the child or to safeguard or promote his welfare.

    (b) For purposes of this section, “in loco parentis” includes grandparent and guardian, any person acting by, through, or under the direction of a court with jurisdiction over the child, and anyone who has express or implied consent of the parent or parents.

    Acts 1973, 63rd Leg., p. 883, ch. 399, Sec. 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1974. Amended by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 900, Sec. 1.01, eff. Sept. 1, 1994.

    The judge’s personal opinion notwithstanding, I doubt that any reasonably intelligent individual could arrive at the conclusion that spanking or “red marks” would by any stretch of the imagination constitute deadly force or serious bodily injury.

    [W3]

Leave a Reply

