A long absense (rambling stream of consciousness)

Having been MIA for a while (wait, no one noticed?  Damn.)…
So, I’ve been away for a while.  Partly a focus on things in meatspace, but also because I didn’t have much to say.  I looked around and see things falling apart.  I see them falling apart, and I also see that there’s not much I can do to stop or slow it.  This causes me to think, is mitigating these things really for the best?  Maybe not.

I was a at a gun show recently, and it was the first time I can ever remember being slightly uncomfortable there.  Normally, I can pick up bandoleers, stripper clips, misc. parts, etc. easily.  For the first time ever, I heard *other* people talking about combat packing ammo. 

I saw people with lists.  Long lists.

I saw people with lists made by other people.

There wasn’t the loud conversations of joyful sharing of hobbyists. 

There was quiet determination. 

And that scared me.

I have a feeling.  There’s a storm moving in.  (And the internet says:  no shit, where have you been?)  But this is different.  I don’t hear the loud protestations of the down-trodden.  I see steely looks, hard faces, and resignation.  It’s different.

Keep your powder dry.
– Cato, the American.

Leave a Reply

